National Standing Committee

Nelson Chamisa


President Nelson Chamisa is the current President of the Alliance and has previously served as Member of the House of Assembly of Zimbabwe for Kuwadzana East constituency in Harare.

He was the party’s Presidential candidate in the 2018 harmonised elections, having previously been the leader of the youth assembly.  He was elected MDC spokesman at the party Congress in June 2006. In April 2011 at the Party's congress in Bulawayo, he was elected as the Party's Organising Secretary. In Parliament, he was chair of the Portfolio Committees of Defence and Home Affairs, Public Accounts, Gender and Youth and ...

Lynette Karenyi Kore

Vice President

Lynette Karenyi, is a Zimbabwean politician and Human rights activist, currently serving as MDC Alliance Vice President.

Karenyi was always interested in being the voice of the oppressed from her childhood. In 1999 she joined the MDC and ...

Tendai Biti

Vice President

Hon Tendai Laxton Biti is the current Member of Parliament for Harare East Constituency a Vice President of the MDC Alliance. He also served as Zimbabwe's Minister of Finance from 2009 to 2013 in the Inclusive Government.

Hon ...

Welshman Ncube

Vice President

Welshman Ncube (born 7 July 1961) is a Zimbabwean lawyer, businessman and politician. He currently serves as MDC Alliance Vice President. He is a practicing lawyer in the firm Mathonsi Ncube Law Chambers, where he is the ...

Thabitha Khumalo


Born Thabitha Khumalo, on 23 June 1961 in Bulawayo, Bulawayo Metropolitan Province in Zimbabwe, attended ...

Charlton Hwende

Secretary General

Charlton Hwende is a founder member of the party. He cut his teeth in politics ...

David Coltart

Treasurer General

David Coltart (born 4 October 1957) is a Zimbabwean lawyer and a founding member of ...

Job Sikhala

Vice Chairperson

Honourable Job Sikhala was popularly elected as the party’s new national Vice Chairperson at the ...

Machirairwa Mugidho

Acting Women's Chairperson

Machirairwa Mugidho is the Acting Chairlady for the MDC-ALLIANCE Women’s Assembly. She is from Masvingo ...

Tererai Obey Sithole

Youth Chairperson

Obey Sithole a young Zimbabwean man, passionate about peace, human rights and sustainable development. He ...

David Chimhini

Deputy Secretary General

Born  on 10 June 1950 David went on to gain a Teachers Certificate(T3) from Kutama ...

Concilia Chinanzvavana

Deputy Secretary General

Concilia Chinanzvavana is a qualified High School teacher of the English Language ,Physical Education & ...

Happymore Chidziva

Secretary for Rural Mobilisation and strategy

Happymore Chidziva aka Leader Cde Bvondo

Popularly known as Leader Bvondo, a name derived from his ...

Gladys Kudzaishe Hlatywayo

Secretary for International Relations

Gladys Kudzaishe Hlatywayo - Secretary for International Relations for MDC Alliance.

She is a 2014-2015 Hubert ...

Fadzayi Mahere

Secretary for Communications

Fadzayi Mahere is a Zimbabwean lawyer and politician who grew up in Mount Pleasant, Harare ...

Ian Makone

Secretary for Elections

Ian Makone

Education economics |1976 | university of leicester, uk
· Major: economics
· Minor: statistics operational research ...

Jameson Timba

Secretary for Presidential Affairs

Jameson Zvidzai Timba is a former Minister of State in the office of the Prime ...

Sesel Zvidzai

Secretary for Local Government & Rural Development

Sesel Zvidzai born in 1961 to Tarausai and Mandiyera Mureruswa of Bikita Masvingo whose aspiration ...

Lovemore Chinoputsa

Deputy Secretary for International Relations & Cooperation


  • Master Of Social Work, University Of Zimbabwe
  • Post Grad Diploma ,Child Sensitive Social Policies, ...

Clifford Hlatywayo

Deputy Secretary for Communications

Hon Clifford Hlatywayo is the holder of a Masters degree in Public administration after obtaining ...

Jacob Mafume

Deputy Secretary for Local Government

Ellen Shiriyedenga

Deputy Secretary for Elections

Ellen is a resilient and highly versatile Zimbabwean Politician, Development and Marketing practitioner, with a ...

Felix Magalela Mafa Sibanda

Deputy Secretary for Communications

Felix Magalela Mafa Sibanda born February 5, 1951 is a Zimbabwean activist, community organizer, politician ...

Luke Tamborinyoka

Deputy Secretary for Presidential Affairs

Luke Tamborinyoka is an award winning journalist who became Political Editor of The Daily News ...

Murisi Zvizwai

Deputy Organising Secretary